Toggle menu

Lancashire County Council elections

Elections are usually held every 4 years in 12 district councils that make up Lancashire County Council. This does not include Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council or Blackpool Council which are both unitary authorities.

The next election is scheduled to take place on Thursday, 1 May 2025.  There will however be a by election in September to fill a vacancy in the  division.

Similar to borough wards, county councillors are elected into divisions. In total, Lancashire County Council has 84 divisions across the districts, of which 8 divisions fall within Chorley. 

The names of those divisions are:

  • Chorley Central
  • Chorley North
  • Chorley Rural East
  • Chorley Rural West
  • Chorley South
  • Clayton and Whittle
  • Euxton, Buckshaw & Astley
  • Hoghton and Wheelton

Find my County Councillor


Previous election results




1973 - 2009

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email